MSPR Wins 17 2022 Kentucky Broadcasters Association Impact Broadcast Awards

The staff and students of the State Public Radio Morehead (WMKY, 90.3 FM) won a total of 17 awards at the Impact Broadcast Awards 2022 Kentucky Broadcasters Association (KBA). The awards recognize the best of television journalism and radio for the calendar year 2021.

Awards have been announced for both professional and academic entries.

The Impact Broadcast Awards competition is designed to recognize KBA members and staff for outstanding performance in broadcast journalism. The contest is open to all KBA members in Kentucky and outside of Kentucky with designated market areas that extend into Kentucky. To be eligible to participate, entries must be for news, features, or sports that took place only in Kentucky. Entries must have aired within the 2021 calendar year.

KBA university contest is designed to recognize Kentucky students broadcasters for their outstanding performances in audiovisual journalism university. The competition is open to any university in Kentucky. Entries must have been broadcast in the calendar year 2021.

Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY, 90.3FM) has won a total of 17 awards in the professional and college divisions, including six first-place finishes.

College Radio Division:

  • 1st Place – Best Newscast, Sarah Meade (“WMKY News”)
  • 1st place – Best Radio Reporter, Rachel Turner
  • 1st Place – Best Feature, Ethan Jenkins (“Dr. Russ Zokaites Presents Bootleg: Appalachian-Inspired Music”)
  • 1st Place – Best Sports Coverage, Alyssa White (“WMKY Sport”)
  • 1st Place – Best Website, Morehead State University (“”)
  • 2nd Place – Best Digital Journalist, Kennealy Roberts
  • 2nd Place – Best Newscast, Rachel Turner (“WMKY News”)
  • 2nd Place – Best Sports Coverage, Ethan Jenkins (“WMKY Sport”)
  • 2nd Place – Best Public Affairs, Rachel Turner (“MSU Professor Researches Pop Culture Problems”)
  • 3rd place – Best digital journalist, Rachel Turner
  • 3rd place – Best Radio Reporter, Kennealy Roberts
  • 3rd Place – Best Newscast, Sha’Maurie Mosley (“WMKY News”)
  • 3rd Place – Best Sports Coverage, Kennealy Roberts (“WMKY Sports”)

Professional Radio Division:

  • 1st Place – Best Sport Reporting, Leeann Akers (“WMKY Sport”)
  • 2nd place – Best long-form newscast, Leeann Akers (“Mountain Edition News”)
  • 2nd Place – Best Reporting Sportsman, Tanner Boyd (“WMKY Sport”)
  • 2nd Place – Best Political Coverage, Leeann Akers, Tanner Boyd and Sarah Meade (“Candidates for Mayor of Morehead”)

Serving more than 20 counties in eastern Kentucky, Ohio, and West Virginia, Morehead State Public Radio (WMKY) broadcasts at 90.3 FM from the MSU campus.

Comments are closed.